Home / News & Events / Hawley Troxell Attorneys named Best Lawyers® in 2024 Edition of Best Lawyers in America©

Hawley Troxell Attorneys named Best Lawyers® in 2024 Edition of Best Lawyers in America©

By Hawley Troxell,

Hawley Troxell is pleased to announce that 45 firm attorneys were named Best Lawyers® in the 2024 edition of The Best Lawyers in America© in various practice areas from Bet-the-Company Litigation to Corporate Governance Law.

Recognition by Best Lawyers is based entirely on peer review. Their methodology is designed to capture, as accurately as possible, the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of their colleagues within the same geographical region and legal practice area. Best Lawyers employs a sophisticated, conscientious, rational and transparent survey process designed to elicit meaningful and substantive evaluations of the quality of legal services. Their belief has always been that the quality of a peer-review survey is directly related to the quality of its voting pool.

James L. Martin, Brad P. Miller, Thomas J. Mortell, and Richard G. Smith from Boise and Stanley M. Schwartz from Spokane were recognized as Lawyer of the Year in their practice areas.

Christopher Cook, Chelsea Porter, and Brent Wilson from Boise and Daniel J. Gibbons and Amy Mensik from Spokane were recognized for Best Lawyers Ones to Watch.

The 45 attorneys selected by their peers for inclusion in Best Lawyers® include:

Boise, ID Office

Tyler J. Anderson (2016) Litigation-Construction

John Ashby (2017) Employment Law-Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment

Brian Ballard (2005 Real Estate

Merlyn W. Clark (1995) Arbitration, Bet-the-Company, Commercial Litigation, Ethics & Professional Responsibility, Mediation

Christopher Cook** (2023) Real Estate

Lynnette M. Davis (2021) Construction, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Labor & Employment

Bradlee R. Frazer (2024) Copyright

Richard F. Goodson (2011) Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Real Estate

Kenneth C. Howell (2015) Banking & Finance, Corporate

John C. Hughes (2023) Business Organizations, Tax

Paula L. Kluksdal (2016) Banking & Finance, Real Estate

David W. Knotts (2014) Construction, Insurance, Litigation-Construction, Litigation-Insurance, Professional Malpractice-Defendants

James L. Martin* (2008) Commercial Litigation, Insurance, Litigation-Insurance

John Stanley McGown, Jr. (2007) Tax, Trusts & Estates

Craig L. Meadows (2001) Bet-the-Company, Commercial Litigation, Insurance, Litigation-Banking & Finance, Litigation-Insurance, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Litigation-Real Estate, Litigation-Securities, Mediation

Brad P. Miller* (2018) Employment Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment

Nicholas G. Miller (1997) Corporate Governance, Corporate, Public Finance, Securities/Capital Markets

Thomas J. Mortell* (2013) Construction, Health Care

Mindy Muller (2023) Insurance, Litigation-Health Care

Carsten A. Peterson (2018) Litigation-Insurance

Mark C. Peterson (2022) Insurance, Workers’ Compensation-Employers

Chelsea Porter** (2023) Municipal

Richard A. Riley (2010) Real Estate

Sheila R. Schwager (2019) Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Litigation-Bankruptcy

Cathy R. Silak (2021) Appellate, Commercial Litigation, Mediation

Richard G. Smith* (2021) Tax

Michael M. Stoddard (2019) Public Finance

Stephen R. Thomas (2010) Commercial Litigation, Insurance

Ronald L. Williams (2010) Energy

Brent R. Wilson** (2021) Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy & Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization, Litigation-Bankruptcy

Tracy L. Wright (2020) Litigation-Insurance

Coeur d’Alene, ID Office

Brian T. Rekofke (2010) Medical Malpractice-Defendants

Idaho Falls, ID Office

Marvin K. Smith (2024) Corporate

Marvin M. Smith (2018) Litigation-Insurance

Benjamin Ritchie (2023) Workers’ Compensation-Employers

Pocatello, ID Office

John A. Bailey (2008) Appellate, Insurance, Litigation-Labor & Employment, Personal Injury Litigation-Defendants

Howard D. Burnett (2010) Bet-the-Company Litigation, Commercial, Corporate, Health Care

Julian E. Gabiola (2021) Commercial, Litigation-Insurance, Personal Injury Litigation-Defendants

Reno, NV Office

Rita L. Ricks (2010) Real Estate

Spokane, WA Office

Michael D. Currin (2018) Banking & Finance

Daniel J. Gibbons** (2021) Banking & Finance

Amy M. Mensik** (2021) Labor & Employment Management

Richard A. Repp (2018) Corporate

Stanley M. Schwartz* (2007) Land Use & Zoning, Municipal, Real Estate

William M. Symmes (2013) Commercial-Litigation, Labor Law Management, Litigation-Labor & Employment

*Lawyer of the Year
**Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch

About Best Lawyers®

Since 1983, Best Lawyers® has been regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because it is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which leading attorneys cast votes on the legal abilities of other attorney in their practice area, and because attorneys are not allowed to pay to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers® is considered an honor. Corporate Counsel Magazine has Best Lawyers® the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.